2017 Results

2017 Results

*Click the blue titles to view event results.
*Note that only official results are posted on this page. For immediate results to 2017 events check the news feed or the EMCC Facebook page.

June 21 Northern Bear Road Race
BAR to June 21

The strong wind made for interesting riding at Northern Bear last night, with 14 male riders in two groups, (8+6), ably marshalled by Sherry Haque,and her crew.

Velo colours were to the for, with an always fast Shane Rush, with our sprinter, Curtis Roper, coming through for the win. Greg Sowak raced smartly for third, in that group’s sprint out.

The pace splintered the last two in that group, who were picked off by Keith Thomas, leading out the second group, which had split 3-3.

The racing was fun, tough, and the legs were tired pushing heavy gears in that wind.

Tom Mumby, our elder statesman last night, said he suffered that first lap of three. But we were grateful how he shared the work throughout. Thanks Tom!


On a pleasant evening, with 14 riders, we welcomed an old friend, the undulating Weigh scales road race course. Big kudos then to Honest Jim, who kept the pace as such,from the 8 minute group, and brought out the best in Joy (2nd) and Kathy (3rd). Ladies, wow! Congrats!

Shane Rush took the win, imploding the Scratch group. Gord Morrison rallied, again, passing Mumby’s 4 minute group, although Tom did have bragging rights, with Aaron in his rear view mirror.

Thanks to all for a big effort and great race,and to our volunteers for making it possible.


May 31 TT 20K TWP 520
BAR to MAY31
Despite the storm, the pave was dry, as 17 hardy folk rode speedy TTs on TWP 520.
On age standard, none better than Peter Heppleston, who took top honours from Clive Burke.
Six riders rode thirty minutes and change tonight, and they were all held off by Lorne Dmitruk.
Fast guy again was Ross Wilson, who put his own spin on things. “Pedal fast”, in his words.
Good to see Gord Morrison (C) again,with a super time,and third best age standard on the night.
Ken Miller likewise, lit up the B division.
Stay safe,and keep enjoying this fun sport, that brings us together.

BAR to MAY24

On a tough Joseph Lake TT course, it was a very cool night. Those  “A”‘ guys were quick, but still upstaged by Alan Sutherland, who took both the fastest time,and best age standard plus/minus.

Rich and Gord said hello!, as they rode through on a training ride. Some rode on racing bikes tonite. There were 22 riders. Three ladies, kudos to Elka, Kathy and Sherry.

Spare a thought for Dan Nelson, a fast “B” rider now, but who doesn’t score age standard points until his 40th in September…



19 riders, for the second week in a row, took part in our first handicap road race this year.
The scratch group started 9 minutes behind us slower guys, and in the end, were relatively close.

The win on the night went to Greg Sowak, congrats, who passed the 9 minute group on the third lap, just before the second last turn, and rode with good pace and stayed away by himself.
After Greg, the finishing order was the 9 min group, the scratch group, and the 3 min group, who it would appear,all rode strongly together. Some riders dropped off.

Congrats to all – it was a pleasant evening, and a safe ride.


The first race of the season! Thanks to our volunteers, Peter Heppleston (race chief) and Aaron Mumby. There was a good turnout, 19 riders, and welcome to our new rider, Gordon Tabachniuk.